HAFA/HFTM Award Nominations

Photo of three HAFA/HFTM alumni board membersDo you know a fellow Alumni who is outstanding in their field? Our Alumni are doing great things around the world and we want to celebrate their accomplishments.

Yearly, the HAFA/HFTM Alumni Association recognizes exceptional Alumni for their outstanding achievements and commitment within the Hospitality and Tourism Industry. Three prestigious awards are presented during the Annual Fall Social in Toronto, Ontario. All nominations are welcome and will be reviewed and selected by the HAFA/HFTM Alumni Awards Committee.

Please review the award categories and criteria below and submit nominations by Fall 2020 date TBA.
View past winners.

George D. Bedell Alumni Award

This prestigious award has been revived to honour distinguished alumni of The School of Hospitality, Food and Tourism Management who have consistently shown professionalism, outstanding achievement and personal contribution to the school and to the field. The recipient served as an inspiration to the industry as well as the school and its communities.

Leadership/Entrepreneurial Alumni Award

This award identifies alumni who have demonstrated success within the diverse world of hospitality and tourism. The recipient has displayed excellence, innovation and leadership in his or her field and continues to contribute both to the school and the industry in years ahead. 

Leader of Tomorrow Award

The Leader of Tomorrow Award recognizes a recent graduate who embodies the culture of the industry and the school. The recipient displays outstanding potential in his or her attitude and passion for the industry and will have a bright and shining future ahead. Recipients have acted as an ambassador for the school and are eager to continue their participation with students and alumni as they grow their career. 

To Nominate:

  • Include contact details (both parties), the award and a supporting justification paragraph (500 words max) for why you feel your nominee deserves the award.
  • Email this information to Elizabeth Rauchenstein

Awards will be presented at this year's Fall Social.

The nominee will be informed of the submission of their nomination.