Faculty Awards, Lectureships and Other Programs | Ontario Agricultural College

Faculty Awards, Lectureships and Other Programs

G.P. McRostie Faculty Award

In recognition of G.P. McRostie, Dr. F. Jameson and Mrs. R. Rietta Bell, through the OAC Alumni Foundation, provide an award of $1,000 to recognize the importance of effective advising and mentoring by faculty who play a significant role in the education of OAC students.

Past Recipients

2022: Dr. Cynthia Scott-Dupree, School of Environmental Sciences
2020: Asim Biswas, School of Environmental Sciences
2019: Peter Sikkema, Department of Plant Agriculture
2018: Tina Widowski, Department of Animal Biosciences
2017: Beverley Hale, School of Environmental Sciences
2016: Andy Gordon, School of Environmental Sciences
2015: Andreas Boecker, Department of Food, Agricultural and Resource Economics
2014: Steve Marshall, School of Environmental Sciences
2013: Karen Landman, School of Environmental Design and Rural Development
2012: J. Christopher Hall, School of Environmental Sciences
2011: Rebecca Hallett, School of Environmental Sciences
2010: Emmanuelle Arnaud, School of Environmental Sciences
2009: Jim Mahone, School of Environmental Design and Rural Development
2008: Rickey Yada, Department of Food Science
2007: Allan C. Lauzon, School of Environmental Design and Rural Development
2006: Massimo Marcone, Department of Food Science
2005: Nathan Perkins, School of Environmental Design and Rural Development
2004: James L. Atkinson, Department of Animal and Poultry Science
2003: Douglas Goff, Department of Food Science
2002: Ian J.H. Duncan, Department of Animal and Poultry Science
2001: John H. Burton, Department of Animal and Poultry Science

F.W. Presant Memorial Lecture

With funds received from family and friends of the late Fred Presant, the Foundation supports the Centre for the Study of Animal Welfare to present the F.W. Presant Memorial Lecture.   Funds are normally provided every second year.

Past Lectures

Dr. Juan Villalba, Utah State University; “Learning and diet selection in Herbivores: From the central idea to landscape management”, November 19, 2014

Dr. Jayson Lusk, Department of Agricultural Economics at Oklahoma State University; “Ham and Egg-Onomics”, November 28, 2012

Dr. Victoria Sandilands; Avian Science Research Centre, Scottish Agricultural College, October 2010

Dr. Joy Mench, University of California Davis; “Laying Hen Welfare: Scientific, Consumer and Industry Perspectives”, March 11, 2008

Professor Dan Weary, NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Animal Welfare, Faculty of Land and Food Systems, University of British Columbia; “Building a Better World for Dairy Cattle – The Science and Practice of Improved Care and Housing”, September 27, 2006

Dr. Joe Stookey, Western College of Veterinary Medicine; “Were the Old Ways the Best Ways for Farm Animal Welfare?”, November 2, 2005

Professor Paul Hemsworth, Director of the Animal Welfare Centre, University of Melbourne, Australia; October 27, 2003

Don Risebrough Memorial Fund

The OAC Alumni Foundation provided $3,500 to Holstein Ontario to help fund the Dairy Youth Judging Program. Don’s parents, Bruce and Isobel Risebrough, make an annual donation which together with the Foundation’s contribution enables this award to be made on a continuing basis.